Post No Indictment Reader #2: Eric Garner Edition

Well here we are again, the day after another jury decided not to indict a white police officer in the death of an unarmed black man. If you ain’t think they didn’t care about us before I hope your mind has changed. The parallels between this a Ferguson are astounding. There was a majority white jury which is to be expected in Staten Island.Conservative leaders (I’m looking at you Rep. Peter King) defending the officer and then deciding to criticize Al Sharpton like really? Then the statement of remorse from officer  Daniel Pantaleo to which Esaw Garner said what black people who believe an injustice was done was thinking (Watch people criticize her and say she was classless and deny they are racists). The fact that there was a video that was disregarded should scare every single person in America. I will be doing a more complete post later today after I finish sorting out all my feelings today.

Eric Garner

A Grand Jury Did Indict One Person Involved in Eric Garner’s Killing –The Man Who Filmed It, Nick Wing, The Huffington Post

This is just sickening I have no words and I personally Ramsey Orta was targeted. Until these police departments are proved to not be corrupt I will believe these “conspiracy theories” about them.

NYPD says #WeHearYou as Cop Avoids Charges; Tweet Promptly Backfires, Megan Specia, Mashable

The ill thought #WeHearYou Campaign launched by the NYPD just show how inept the system is at realizing and fixing the problem earlier.

#CrimingWhileWhite Explodes on Twitter Following Eric Garner Decision, Jessica Dickerson, The Huffington Post

This phenomena that occurred is interesting to me, on one hand I’m like this isn’t about white people but about the injustice that blacks face and therefore this is a distraction. Yet on the other, for those being genuine I can feel the solidarity and the admission that they benefit from white privilege. If more white people admitted how they unfairly benefit from this system we could really start to dismantle and rebuild this system. Nonetheless a part of me is surprised by how ludicrous these stories are meanwhile I’m trapped by unrealistic. respectability politics.

No Indictment for NYC Officer in Chokehold Death, Abby Ohlheiser, Elahe Izadi, Sari Horwitz, The Washington Post

‘I Can’t Breathe’, Philip Bump, Peter Holley, and Wesley Lowery, The Washington Post

Tamir Rice

I know  that  today is about Eric Garner but the Tamir Rice case will be coming  up (in probably another 100 days) and some of the things that have come out of this are equally scaring especially considering how the officer remembered the event. Thank God for the video or maybe not because it did not matter for justice for Eric Garner.

The Police’s Story about the Shooting of 12-year-old Tamir Rice Doesn’t Match the Video, German Lopez, Vox

Timothy Loehmann, Cop Who Shot Tamir Rice, Deemed Unfit for Policing 2 Years ago, Hilary Hanson, The Huffington Post

Other News

The Yale Black Men’s Union pariticpated in this project called ‘To My Unborn Son’ my friend Azmar is a part of it and the responses are just chilling and saddening. I want kids but these cases make me question this desire. Made in the aftermath of the no indictment of Darren Wilson, this project shows how this is an issue across the nation.

To My Unborn Son

Something to encourage you:

Leave a Reply

